500 Words
500 Words
Ep 03 - On a Call With Matthew Malach
0:00
-8:54

Ep 03 - On a Call With Matthew Malach

This is Episode 03 of On a Call With, a mini-podcast about creativity.

Subscribers will have access to the complete archive online. If you’re curious about subscribing to this email, here’s how.

On a Call With Animation Writer Matthew Malach

I’ve known Matthew Malach since we worked together in New York on an animation series called ThunderCats. We went on to write scripts together, many of them comedies, some for live action television, and others for animation, including an episode of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles that the story editor said was "the worst ever written." We both survived the experience.

Matthew has written many animation shows including The Real Adventures of Jonny Quest, X-Men: The Animated Series, and Peter Pan and the Pirates. Matthew worked at E! Networks for more than a decade as a staff script editor. He is currently doing storyboard revisions for a new animation project and he is also an animatic editor at Nickelodeon. An animatic is kind of a movie made out of the storyboard. Matthew takes the storyboard panels and turns them into JPGs to make a flip book of the story. (I didn't know this; I had to ask Matthew what an animatic is.)

If you put your heart into [your writing] that's gold. If you can turn the simplest thing, the simplest job, into your gold then you can spread it around. That can be your best work. Everything can be your best work if you are present to it and if you are there during the act of creation. -- Matthew Malach

A reminder, this is a phone call, not a fancy podcast like the sort I usually produce. I added some touch tone effects at the beginning to remind everyone of this. Also, since digital phone calls just end with no sound of the phone hanging up, for this episode, I'm testing out a new ending. Let me know what you think of it!

Thanks for listening,

Lee


You can work with me.

I produce podcasts. I record in Los Angeles, San Francisco, or New York, and can work on site or remotely. Got an idea for a show? Let's talk. I also consult on podcast production and promotion.


Hey, what is this thing?

This is 500 Words. It’s a weekly email about living a creative life. Some weeks you’ll get a mini-podcast like this one. Other weeks I write a 500-word essay.

Email me anytime. I respond to subscribers faster than mere mortals, so if you’re reading this on your email, just hit reply. (Thanks for subscribing!) Say hi on Twitter. I’m @docuguy. I post to Ello. I have a Skillshare course for creators called Social Media Skills for Content Creators.

Also, if you don’t already, subscribe to this newsletter. You’ll get a post like this once a week on Sundays. And if you liked this week’s post, why not forward it to a friend?

500 Words
500 Words
500 Words is a podcast about living a creative life. Short-form interviews with creative people from film, music, design, multi-media and more. Conducted by Lee Schneider.